top of page

Tiger Takedown 2018-19 #13

Tiger Takedown: Aztec Wrestling Newsletter End of Season 2018-2019 3/11/2019

The annual Wrestling Awards Banquet was one of the largest attended wrestling events of the season. The MPR was packed with past, present, future fans, parents and wrestlers. Ricky Adair was the Legends of the Past guest speaker. Ricky was on 3 State Champion teams in 1990, ‘91 and ’92. He won 2 individual State Championships along the way. His message was based on how important older wrestlers were to the younger wrestlers and how much his time in the Aztec Wrestling Program has meant to him and helped him in his present life.

Awards were handed out,and acclamations were abundant, as each wrestler was acknowledged for their importance to the program.

Academic Awards:

All District Academic Team 3.0 or better: Garrett Birzer, Cody Candelaria, Logan Klepac, Dylan St.Vrain, Zane Chapman, Josh Hannah

Aztec Board of Education Scholar Award Winners 3.5 or better: Zane Chapman, Logan Klepac, John Good

Highest GPA Senior Award Winner: Hunter Medina 3.26

Chuckie Hesser Memorial Award Winners:

40 point Club Members: Jaren McBride, Dylan St. Vrain, Christian Robison, Garrett Birzer, Cody Candelaria, Hunter Medina, Bode Wooley, Zane Chapman, Logan Klepac, Malcolm Altisi, Caleb Varzeas.

Top Point Earner: Cody Candelaria 266.5

$300 Book Scholarship Recipient: Hunter Medina

Aztec High School Wrestling Team Awards:

MVP Junior Varsity Wrestler: Hunter Riddick

JV Wrestler on the Horizon: Sammy Minton

Most Improved Wrestler: Cody Candelaria

Spirit of the Tigers: Hunter Medina

4 D’s to Success: Garrett Birzer

February’s Child: Caleb Varzeas

Coaches Award: Jaren McBride

Most Valuable Wrestler: Christian Robison

Letter Awards Winner: Jaren McBride, Kaydon McElroy, Dylan St. Vrain, Christian Robison, Garrett Birzer, Cody Candelaria, Hunter Medina, Bode Wooley, Zane Chapman, Malcolm Altisi, Logan Klepac, Caleb Varzeas, Zack Roberts, Josh Hannah, Jacob Culler, Justin Hargis, Sammy Minton, Hunter Riddick, Brody Dalton, Chance Hoggard, Ty Ashley.

Girls Letter Award Winners: Makayla Munos and Princess Altisi

Special Thanks to our never tiring Booster Club and the 50 Sponsors whom without this could not have happened.

Next Events:

Aztec Youth Annual Tournament: Saturday, April 6th all day

7th Annual Aztec Summer Clinic/Duals June 14 -15

Las Vegas NV Summer Duals June 17-19

South Dakota Duals July 6-12

Spotlight Alumnus: Dr. Dwayne Gibbs retired after 36 years as a general and trauma surgeon. He was a member of the 1971 Aztec High School State Championship team under Coach Jerry Parker. Dr. Gibbs, enjoy your well deserved retirement- From a Proud Aztec Wrestling Nation

bottom of page